New Nhill Lawn Tennis Club Room Set to Open

Published on 30 January 2023

Nhill Tennis Club Room.png

Tennis in Nhill has a new home, with federal Member for Mallee, Dr Anne Webster set to open the new Club Room facility at a twilight event next week.

Dr Webster will join Hindmarsh Shire Council Mayor, Cr Brett Ireland, at the Nhill Lawn Tennis Club in Turner St, Nhill for the 6pm opening on Friday 10 February 2023. The Club will provide a sausage sizzle after formalities conclude and welcomes members of the public to come along and celebrate with them.

It has been a long wait for the Nhill Lawn Tennis Club, without proper facilities for several years, after their original club room required demolition when a freak windstorm in October 2019 caused irreparable damage. Since this time the Club has been ‘making do’ with the erection of portable shade structures to provide shelter for their season of tennis each Summer.

In a further boost to the local community and economy, construction of the new club room has been completed by Nhill builder, Leyonhjelm Building Services, who successfully tendered for completion of the project in 2022.

Hindmarsh Shire Council Mayor, Cr Brett Ireland, noted “the challenges that the club has faced over the last few years with the old club room badly damaged in October 2019 and then the COVID-19 pandemic impacting shortly after this. The Nhill Lawn Tennis Club have done a great job keeping local tennis going over this time. It is really pleasing that Council have been able to assist with the development of a new club room which will help the club continue to offer tennis competition each summer for many years to come.”

Construction of the new Nhill Lawn Tennis Club Room has been made possible with funding from the Federal Government’s Local Roads and Community Infrastructure program, Hindmarsh Shire Council and Nhill Lawn Tennis Club.

If you would like further information regarding this project, please contact Simon Landrigan Project Coordinator on (03) 5391 4444 or email

Greg Wood
Chief Executive Officer