Australia Day Awards

Each year on Australia Day, Hindmarsh Shire Council presents awards at the Australia Day events held throughout the shire on the day.

The Australia Day Awards recognise outstanding community service to the Hindmarsh Shire community during the current year and/or outstanding service to the community over a number of years. The Awards are provided by the Australia Day Committee (Victoria) and are administered by Local Government Authorities throughout Australia.

These awards include:

  • Hindmarsh Shire Citizen of the Year
  • Hindmarsh Shire Young Citizen of the Year
  • Hindmarsh Shire Community Event of the Year

Past Australia Day Award Recipients:

2023 Hindmarsh Shire Citizen of the Year


Christine Dufty of Nhill has been announced as Hindmarsh Shire Citizen of the Year for 2023.

For over 32 years, Christine has contributed to West Wimmera Health Services (WWHS) and to the wellbeing of the community in many different ways. Over the recent years, Christine’s knowledge and skills on infection prevention has been an asset to the community.

During the pandemic, Christine has been unwavering in her support of staff, and has been the go-to person for advice on management of infection prevention, vaccination, isolation, visitor management and a variety of other issues and challenges that have arisen. She coordinated the vaccinations of the elderly and vulnerable, staff, the community, and local businesses. 

Christine has gone above and beyond when caring for the community. She has travelled to businesses to vaccinate staff, visited the homes of vulnerable people, cared for residents in WWHS and other ages care facilities, and played a key role in operations of the COVID-19 testing station at the Nhill Truck and Trailer Exchange, community vaccination clinics and vaccination clinics for Children.

Outside of work, Christine has been involved in the Rotary Club for over 20 year and was the first female member of the Nhill Rotary Club, which once was an all-male club. During her time on the Rotary Club, she was heavily involved in the rehabilitation of the Nhill Swamp Boardwalk, saving it from being destroyed.

Christine is also a long-time member of the Nhill and District Sporting Club as a hockey player, volunteers for the Nhill Hockey Club and is a life member of the Wimmera Hockey Association.

In 2022, Christine was awarded the Employee of the Year Award at the ACE Radio Business Awards.

Congratulations Christine!

2023 Hindmarsh Shire Young Citizen of the Year


Ayla Roberts of Rainbow has been announced as Hindmarsh Shire Young Citizen of the Year for 2023.

Ayla is an excellent role model for younger members of the community. In 2022, Ayla organised a White Ribbon Awareness Day that included a number of information sessions and activities for students. This day also included a community lunch where she spoke about the cause in front of a large crowd and a fund-raiser where she raised over $3,000 (including sales of merchandise) which was donated to White Ribbon Australia and West Wimmera White Ribbon.

Ayla has been chosen as a School Captain for Rainbow P-12 College in 2023, often assists in fund raising events for Rainbow P-12 College and is a member of the College’s SRC and Wellbeing Team.

She is involved in the Rainbow Jeparit Football and Netball Club and a member of the Rainbow Junior Badminton Club.

When Ayla isn’t at school or playing sport, she cares for her mother who has mobility issues. She is open about her own mental health struggles and is very passionate about promoting an inclusive community.

Congratulations Ayla!

2023 Hindmarsh Shire Community Event of the Year


The Peter Taylor Memorial Barefoot Tournament and Night Jump has been announced as Hindmarsh Shire’s Community Event of the Year for 2023.

The Peter Taylor Memorial Barefoot Tournament and Night Jump was held on Friday 18 February 2022 in memory of a great barefoot waterskiing legend, Peter Taylor, who sadly passed away of cancer in 2017. It was organised and run by the Dimboola Boat and Water Ski Club with the help of the Dimboola Rowing Club, Dimboola Netball and Football Club and Dimboola Town Committee.

The event consisted of very talented barefoot water skiers of all ages showing off their barefoot skills along the Wimmera River in Dimboola with the night jump being the highlight of the night. The whole tournament was live broadcasted so those who were unable to attend could still tune in and watch it.

This event attracted 2,500 attendees from all over Australia and was a reminder of how great it is to be able to hold large events again following COVID-19 restrictions.

Not only did the event attract a large crowd and provide great entertainment for the community and visitors to Dimboola and the surrounding region, but it also raised between $4,500 to $5,000 which was donated to Wimmera Against Cancer in Kids (WACK) and Wimmera Mental Health.

Congratulations to the Dimboola Boat and Water Ski Club!

Hindmarsh Shire Citizen of the Year Past Recipients

2022 - Merv Schneider OAM, Nhill
2021 - 
Pauline McCracken, Nhill
2020 - Catherine Bates, Nhill
2019 - Annette Creek, Nhill
2018 - 
Joy Wheaton, Nhill
2017 - John Millington, Rainbow
2016 - Bill Hutson, Rainbow
2015 - Dawn Petschel, Rainbow
2014 - Pamela Budde, Dimboola
2013 - Margaret Millington, Nhill

Hindmarsh Shire Young Citizen of the Year Past Recipients

2022 - Caleb Zanker, Nhill
2021 - 
Jack Kalms, Dimboola
2020 - 
Shannon Smith, Nhill
2019 - 
Danni Haebich, Dimboola
2018 - 
Tha Blay Sher, Nhill
2017 - 
Charlotte Kube, Nhill
2016 - 
Louise Bone, Nhill
2015 - 
Mikayla Farmers, Nhill
2014 - 
Jamie Harding, Nhill

Hindmarsh Shire Community Event of the Year Past Recipients

2021 - Rainbow Desert Enduro Rises 240
2020 - 
Nhill Aviation Heritage Centre Nhill Airshow 2019
2019 - 
Nhill Lutheran Church Christmas Tree Exhibition
2018 - 
Fight MND Ice Dunk Challenge, Nhill & District Sporting Club and Dimboola Sporting Club
2017 - 
Dimboola Food Festival
2016 - 
Nhill Air Show 2015
2015 - 
Karen New Year 2014
2014 - 
Winiam Cricket Club's Pink Stumps Day