Council Committees

Advisory Committees

Council has established Advisory Committees to advise Council on issues pertinent to each town or a specific purpose. We work closely with Advisory Committees to educate us on issues facing their communities. They guide us to deliver inclusive services and help develop, implement and monitor our plans and strategies.

Hindmarsh Shire Council currently has seven Advisory Committees:

Audit and Risk Committee

Delegated Councillors: Cr Debra Nelson and Cr Brett Ireland

Audit & Risk Committee Charter(PDF, 555KB)
Audit & Risk Committee Work Plan(PDF, 194KB)

The Audit & Risk committee is an independent advisory committee to Council that meets 3 times per year. The committee is established to assist in the effective conduct of Council’s responsibilities for good governance, the management of risk, financial reporting and maintenance of reliable systems and internal controls in order to facilitate the achievement of its organisational objectives.

External members are appointed to the committee who demonstrate senior business, risk management or financial management / reporting knowledge and have experience in financial and other reporting requirements. External members are paid an honorarium per meeting.

The Audit & Risk Committee operates under section 53 and 54 of the Local Government Act 2020, with the Charter setting out the roles and responsibilities of the committee.


9 March 2022(PDF, 652KB)
15 June 2022(PDF, 352KB)
21 September 2022(PDF, 328KB)
8 March 2023(PDF, 440KB)
14 June 2023(PDF, 315KB)
20 September 2023(PDF, 385KB)

Hindmarsh Pride Committee

Delegated Councillor: Cr Melanie Albrecht

Click here to view Hindmarsh LGBTIQ+ Reference Group Terms of Reference(PDF, 148KB)

The Hindmarsh Pride Committee (formerly called LGBTIQ+ Reference Group) aims to strengthen the voice of the LGBTIQ+ community by providing advice to ensure Council’s broader policy issues and Council Plan and programs reflect the interests of the LGBTQI+ community. The Terms of Reference set out the objectives of the LGBTIQ+ reference group.


8 February 2023(PDF, 339KB)
12 April 2023(PDF, 182KB)
19 July 2023 (notes)(PDF, 178KB)

Nhill Aerodrome Master Plan Advisory Committee

Delegated Councillor: Cr Wendy Bywaters

CEO Employment and Remuneration Committee

Delegated Councillors: Cr Melanie Albrecht, Cr Brett Ireland, Cr Debra Nelson, Cr Rob Gersch, Cr Ron Ismay and Cr Wendy Bywaters
Independent Chair: Christine Mileham

The role of the CEO Employment and Remuneration Committee is to make recommendations on contracts, appointments, remuneration, conditions or extensions of appointments relating to the CEO. The committee also conducts the CEO performance review.

Community Asset Committees

Hindmarsh Shire Council has a number of Community Asset Committees established under section 65 of the Local Government Act 2020. Asset Committees manage community halls and facilities. Each Asset Committee has a delegation from the CEO which sets out their roles and responsibilities. 

Hindmarsh Shire Council currently has ten Community Asset Committees:


Council has recurrent periods where it advertises membership to these Committees. However, if you are interested in joining a Committee and it is not currently 'open for application', it still may be possible for you to become a member. If you would like to express your interest in becoming a member of a Council Committee, please complete the form below and return it to us via email at or to any of our Customer Service Centres or Libraries.

Council Committee Expression of Interest Form(PDF, 243KB)