Jeparit Heritage Walk
Take this self guided town walk to explore the history of Jeparit. Information about the sites can be found on plaques along the walk, with further information found via the links below.
Jeparit was surveyed in 1883 and gazetted on the 13th of July, 1903. The post office opened on 31 August, 1889, and the town was known as Lake Hindmarsh until December of that year. Two earlier post offices called Lake Hindmarsh had existed in the area at various times since 1861 to serve a smaller population of graziers.
The area around Jeparit had been home to the Gromiluk Aborigines prior to European settlement. The name Jeparit is believed to be derived from a Gromiluk word meaning “home of small birds”. European settlement began in the 1880s when German Lutheran immigrants began to settle and grow wheat.
The town is the birthplace of Australia’s legendary Prime Minister, Sir Robert Menzies. He was Australia’s longest serving Prime Minister, 1939-1941 and 1949-1966, keeping the top job for over 18 years. Some regard him as Australia’s greatest leader. In honour of Sir Robert Menzies, his achievements and political success, Jeparit has erected a spire, a town square, and a plaque.
Jeparit Heritage Sites 1 - 20
Jeparit Heritage Sites 21 - 40
Jeparit Heritage Sites 41 - 60
Jeparit Heritage Sites 61 - 83
Click here(PDF, 7MB) to view and download a large version of this map.
Disclaimer: All information contained on these pages has been prepared over years of research from a small local volunteer group. The information is correct to the best of our knowledge. We always welcome suggestions for corrections or further information to add to the heritage sites. Please forward any comments to email@example.com.